Tamilnadu State Award Function to be held at the University of Madras Centenary Auditorium on December 8. The Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, M Karunanidhi will hand over the awards to the actors, directors and technicians.

For the year 2007: Rajini will receive the award for his performance in Sivaji as best actor. The best film award goes to Sivaji. The second and third awards have been bagged by Mozhi and Pallikoodam. A special prize goes to Periyar.

For the year 2008: kamal will receive the best actor award for his performance in Dasavatharam. Dasavatharam has been selected as the best film. While Abhiyum Naanum has bagged the second prize, Santhosh Subramaniam will be awarded the third prize. Meiporul bagged the special prize.

The duo Rajinikanth and Kamal Haasan will receive the State award under the best actor