T20 Champions League Groups and Fixtures Announced

Host India will have three teams in the competition, with Deccan Chargers and Delhi Daredevils joining Bangalore in the lineup.

A total of 23 matches will be played Oct. 8-23 at three venues: Bangalore, New Delhi and Hyderabad.

The 12 teams have been divided into four preliminary groups of three teams each. Two teams from each group will advance to the eight-team round-robin league.

The top four teams will then move into the semifinals, which will be played in New Delhi on Oct. 21 and Hyderabad on Oct. 22. Hyderabad will stage the final on Oct. 23.

Group A: Deccan Chargers (India), Trinidad and Tobago (West Indies) and England No. 2 (to be decided).

Group B: New South Wales Blues (Australia), Diamond Eagles (South Africa) and England No. 1 (to be decided).

Group C: Royal Challengers Bangalore (India), Cape Cobras (South Africa) and Otago Volts (New Zealand).

Group D: Delhi Daredevils (India), Victoria Bushrangers (Australia) and Wayamba (Sri Lanka)

Organizers released the draw Thursday for the the new US$6-million international T20 tournament involving 12 top provincial teams from seven nations. Victoria and New South Wales qualified from Australia, with Cape Cobras and Diamond Eagles from South Africa, Trinidad and Tobago from West Indies, Otago from New Zealand and Wayamba from Sri Lanka.
Royal Challengers Bangalore will take on Cape Cobras in the inaugural match of the Twenty20 Champions League in October.
The two English teams will be decided after the domestic Twenty20 championship ends in August.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *