List of ICC AWARDS 2009

icc-awards-2009List of ICC AWARD 2009

  • Indian opener Gautam Gambhir was named the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year.
  • Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was adjudged the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year.
  • Mitchell Johnson won the Cricketer of the Year award.
  • Sri Lanka’s Tillakaratne Dilshan was adjudged the ICC Twenty20 International Performer of the Year.
  • Australia’s Peter Siddle as the ICC Emerging Player of the Year.
  • Kiwis claim award: New Zealand bagged the Spirit of Cricket award.
  • Pakistan’s Aleem Dar walked away with the Umpire of the Year prize.
  • Ireland captain William Porterfield was named the ICC Associate Nations’ Cricketer of the Year.

The ODI team of the Year:

M.S. Dhoni (capt.), Virender Sehwag, Chris Gayle, Kevin Pietersen, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Yuvraj Singh, Martin Guptill, Andrew Flintoff, Nuwan Kulasekara, Ajantha Mendis and Umar Gul; 12th man: Thilan Thushara.
The ICC Test team of the Year:

M.S. Dhoni (capt.), G. Gambhir, A. Strauss, A.B. de Villiers, S. Tendulkar, T. Samaraweera, M. Clarke, Shakib-ul-Hasan, M. Johnson, S. Broad, and D. Steyn; 12th man: Harbhajan Singh.

These awards were given away for performances between August 2008 and August 2009. The winners were selected by an elite panel that included Clive Lloyd, Anil Kumble, Mudassar Nazar, Stephen Fleming and Bob Taylor.