Soundarya Rajinikanth’s Ocher Studios and tennis player Mahesh Bhupathi comes together on new concept in South Indian cinema

soundarya-rajinikanth-mahesh-bhupathi-ocher-studiosSoundarya Rajinikanth’s Ocher Studios and tennis player Mahesh Bhupathi comes together on new concept in South Indian cinema :

Soundarya Rajinikanth’s Ocher Studios and tennis player Mahesh Bhupathi’s Globosport has entered into a joint venture agreement to focus on the untapped potential and a relatively new concept to the South Indian cinema. The awards will be a tribute to the achievements of South Indian film artistes and technicians working on and off the screen.

Apart from helping talented artistes in managing endorsements, the venture will also concentrate in New Media rights of South Indian celebrities and the South Indian Film Awards Extravaganza.

According to Mahesh Bhupathi: It is great to be involved with the South that is often considered to be the Mecca of Indian cinema.

Soundarya was said that The South can boast of some of the biggest talents in the Indian Film Industry. Recognizing talent is as important as sustaining it. I am very excited about our association with Mahesh Bhupathi and this Joint Venture.

The national team’s bowling and fielding coaches Venkatesh Prasad and Robin Singh are sacked

venkatesh-prasad-and-robin-sighn-saked-by-bcciThe national team’s bowling and fielding coaches Prasad and Singh had faced heavy criticism over the team’s poor bowling and fielding, which saw India fail to make the semi-finals of the World Twenty20 in June and the Champions Trophy last month.

The Indian cricket board has decided to discontinue the services of bowling coach Venkatesh Prasad and fielding coach Robin Singh with immediate effect. The board is expected to name their replacements before the seven-match one-day home series against world champions Australia, which opens on October 25. It is said that Gary Kirsten and captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni were not part of the decision.

Srinivasan did not detail why the two former India internationals, who had been involved with the national team since the tour of Bangladesh in May 2007, were removed.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced Cricket World Cup 2011 Group

logo-2011The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced Cricket World Cup 2011 Group on Wednesday after a Board meeting.

Cricket World Cup 2011 Group consist of Group A and B.

India has been placed in Group B while Australia placed in Group A.

Group A:

Australia, Pakistan, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, Canada and Kenya

Group B:

India, South Africa, England, West Indies, Bangladesh, Ireland and Netherlands.

Apart from this, the meeting also discussed ways to promote cricket and decided to have more research on the concept of day/night Tests.

List of ICC AWARDS 2009

icc-awards-2009List of ICC AWARD 2009

  • Indian opener Gautam Gambhir was named the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year.
  • Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was adjudged the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year.
  • Mitchell Johnson won the Cricketer of the Year award.
  • Sri Lanka’s Tillakaratne Dilshan was adjudged the ICC Twenty20 International Performer of the Year.
  • Australia’s Peter Siddle as the ICC Emerging Player of the Year.
  • Kiwis claim award: New Zealand bagged the Spirit of Cricket award.
  • Pakistan’s Aleem Dar walked away with the Umpire of the Year prize.
  • Ireland captain William Porterfield was named the ICC Associate Nations’ Cricketer of the Year.

The ODI team of the Year:

M.S. Dhoni (capt.), Virender Sehwag, Chris Gayle, Kevin Pietersen, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Yuvraj Singh, Martin Guptill, Andrew Flintoff, Nuwan Kulasekara, Ajantha Mendis and Umar Gul; 12th man: Thilan Thushara.
The ICC Test team of the Year:

M.S. Dhoni (capt.), G. Gambhir, A. Strauss, A.B. de Villiers, S. Tendulkar, T. Samaraweera, M. Clarke, Shakib-ul-Hasan, M. Johnson, S. Broad, and D. Steyn; 12th man: Harbhajan Singh.

These awards were given away for performances between August 2008 and August 2009. The winners were selected by an elite panel that included Clive Lloyd, Anil Kumble, Mudassar Nazar, Stephen Fleming and Bob Taylor.

India ODI Squad announced and Dravid return to one day squad after 2 years

dravid-come-backChairman Krishnamachari Srikkanth’s said that this is the best team we could have sent.

Seletors said that Our batting looked suspect during the T20 World Cup and the West Indies series. So we thought Dravid was the right man to add some spunk to the lineup, especially on the fast and bouncy tracks of South Africa.

With Zaheer (Khan) and (Virender) Sehwag not there, we’re short of two genuine matchwinners. Basically, we were looking at more impact players the selector added.

Abhishek Nayar is the only all-rounder in the squad while wicketkeeper Dinesh Karthik will be considered as the third opener in case of a crisis. He did the job successfully in the West Indies and is a multi-utility cricketer.

India ODI Squad announced:

Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Yusuf Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, RP Singh, Ishant Sharma, Amit Mishra, Dinesh Karthik, Abhishek Nayar, Ashish Nehra, Praveen Kumar

Dravid would once again take guard for India in ODIs. It was middle-order solidity the selectors were looking for and Dravid fitted the bill perfectly.

T20 Champions League Groups and Fixtures Announced

Host India will have three teams in the competition, with Deccan Chargers and Delhi Daredevils joining Bangalore in the lineup.

A total of 23 matches will be played Oct. 8-23 at three venues: Bangalore, New Delhi and Hyderabad.

The 12 teams have been divided into four preliminary groups of three teams each. Two teams from each group will advance to the eight-team round-robin league.

The top four teams will then move into the semifinals, which will be played in New Delhi on Oct. 21 and Hyderabad on Oct. 22. Hyderabad will stage the final on Oct. 23.

Group A: Deccan Chargers (India), Trinidad and Tobago (West Indies) and England No. 2 (to be decided).

Group B: New South Wales Blues (Australia), Diamond Eagles (South Africa) and England No. 1 (to be decided).

Group C: Royal Challengers Bangalore (India), Cape Cobras (South Africa) and Otago Volts (New Zealand).

Group D: Delhi Daredevils (India), Victoria Bushrangers (Australia) and Wayamba (Sri Lanka)

Organizers released the draw Thursday for the the new US$6-million international T20 tournament involving 12 top provincial teams from seven nations. Victoria and New South Wales qualified from Australia, with Cape Cobras and Diamond Eagles from South Africa, Trinidad and Tobago from West Indies, Otago from New Zealand and Wayamba from Sri Lanka.
Royal Challengers Bangalore will take on Cape Cobras in the inaugural match of the Twenty20 Champions League in October.
The two English teams will be decided after the domestic Twenty20 championship ends in August.